Don’t cry for me, Brooklyn….

1. This is one of my new favorite songs. One of the verses is Not Awesome, but the chorus and the rest of it is darn catchy.

2. I leave tomorrow for a 10 day retreat, where there will be no phones, no lights, no motorcars, not a single luxury. Amish paradise? Not quite – but it will be an interesting experience all around because in addition to no electronics, there will also be no talking, only lots of meditating. Now if you’re anything like every single person I work with, you’re thinking “Um, MKP, I find it hard to imagine most people not-talking for 10 days straight but you? YOU?!?!” and then you’re cackling on the floor. Go ahead. I’ll wait.

I’m excited/nervous/eager/petrified to try this experience, to earn a new meditation practice, to get some clarity, to come up with the three award-winning ideas that will secure my place in the creative nonfiction hall of fame (or at the very least come out with an interesting narrative of That Time I Did That Thing). So wish me luck, and send me lots of OMG WE MISS YOU comments while I’m gone.

And because I’m a slacker who hasn’t stockpiled any work for grad school, let alone had it together enough to schedule posts in my absence, you’ll all just have to miss me and wonder what you did to drive me away.

In the meantime you can listen to this song and think of all the deep breathing I will be doing:

(this is a cool stripped down behind the scenes version – compare and contrast with the full version here)

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

