Marriage Equality in NYC

What this means to me as a bisexual woman is that the state I live in considers me human. That whether I choose to build my life and family with a man or a woman, we and our future hypothetical kids will have the same rights and protections under the law. That I won’t ever have to back away from love for “practical” reasons or fight to visit my partner in the hospital because we’re not “really” married.

I’m not even sure I want to get married, but realizing I couldn’t in the state I have made my home in, and seeing how hard bigots would fight to keep me from doing it, made me feel all in a rush that this was a right I had to have.

And now we have it, New Yorkers. Congratulations.

It was amazing to hear and echo calls to activism on twitter and Facebook. To advocate and argue on behalf of myself and LGBTQ people all over New York.

http://tumblr.com/xul35xm3fu

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Marriage Equality in NYC

  1. Jason Crane says:

    Well said. It was an amazing night.

    Here are a few photos I took at Stonewall: http://bit.ly/mQDcww

    Ain’t it grand when human rights win?

    All the best,

    Jason (jasondcrane from twitter)

  2. Chibi Jeebs says:

    It makes me SO happy every time I hear of another state doing the *right* thing. 🙂

Leave a Reply

