Bossypants Brings it.

Tina Fey’s remarkable and silly and EFFING FUNNY book, Bossypants covers her childhood (how to turn out an achievement-minded virgin), her SNL career (before Liz? Kattan in drag. After Liz? Pregnant Amy Poehler rapping. Correlation is not causation, and shiz, but c’mon), photo shoots (reminder: This is not your real life), her favorite parts of 30 Rock and several excellent reminders to Leave People Alone About ____.

Reading it, I giggled on the train. I cackled on the walk home. I chortled on the couch while Gracie was in time out for shredding her bed. I belted out laugh after laugh at her description, her phrasing, her frankness, her impeccable storytelling….

Not only is it hilarious, but it’s direct. Women, don’t sabotage women. Fathers, be supportive and discipliney. Straight people, gay people aren’t there just for your amusement. Amy Poehler, you just keep being you (and telling off Jimmy Fallon for telling her some “unladylike” piece of humor “wasn’t cute.” “I don’t fucking care if you like it” is my new motto, y’all).

Get it. Read it. Cry a little. Love it, and Tina Fey, a little bit more. We share a lot of the same privilege, but her comedy sensibility outstrips mine (not just because she’s funnier) in the way that she is brave – language is not a barrier to her in terms of humor. Yes she’ll back off a rough joke, but it won’t be because it’s “Ewwww” or Nice Girls Don’t or Someone Might Be Offended or because it’s more important that she should be liked. And with all that, she is not mean, petty, or vicious. In her hands, I can actually believe that comedy writing can be a meritocracy. I admire that immensely.

My feelings were hurt for a whole 10 minutes on Sunday because some Mets-tweeting jackass blocked me after what I thought was a totally normal bantering back and forth. BLOCKED ME.  Would Tina Fey care if someone blocked her twitter? Highly dubious.

And being in the Vagina Monologues did a TON to make my more moon goddessy about my ladytimez, but I am not yet (Yet!) capable of the amazingness of a throwaway *ahem* “consequences of aging” reference that left me caterwauling on my quilt.

Nobody ever better say “women aren’t funny” ever again. In the words of Tina Fey, “I don’t like Chinese food but I don’t go around writing articles that it doesn’t exist.”

The other thing I took away from her career is her observation that in a world where WE MAKE IT UP, there’s never going to be not enough screen time or not enough assignments or not enough jobs for women starring opposite other women, you guys.

So anyway. You were probably already extremely likely to buy this, and I’m here to tell you that you won’t be disappointed. Tina Fey is no Paragon Of Everything, obvi, but we already know she’s smart, talented and the book is practically pitch perfect (only a few hundred backstage stories…and also pages… too short).

This entry was posted in Current Events, Reviews and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Bossypants Brings it.

  1. Suzanne says:

    I shall buy it today, because I love Tina, but also because you told me to.

  2. TMae says:

    As Suzanne said, I shall buy it today. I was ob the fence about it because I’m not a huge Tina Fey fan. Not for any reason other than I’m too old to stay up to watch SNL and I don’t watch 30 Rock. Anyway, as your review left me wanting more…off to the bookseller I go.

  3. meoskop says:

    I should watch 30 rock, and I’ve been hoping to get Bossypants via library, but given the endorsement perhaps I shall shell out.

    • kidlitfan says:

      I had it on hold, and shelled out based on the endorsement and the fact that it was my birthday. I second the endorsement. You should buy yourself a copy, consider it giving yourself a care package from me for my birthday!

Leave a Reply

