Gluten-Free Fridays #1

I am on the record as deeply skeptical of gluten free things that are constitutionally supposed to have gluten because they are so often grainy, crumbly, chemical tasting or otherwise gross. Also, you know how much I love to buy all the things. So I’ve decided to buy all the gluten-free things. I’ll buy them, cook them, eat them, and tell you how they were. And by “were” I mean my three categories of evaluation:

Flavor: How does it taste?

Texture: How does it feel?

Level of Gluten-based Resentment: How annoyed am I to be eating it?

So, up first, Amy’s Gluten-free Tamales.

It’s vegetarian, which I didn’t necessarily realize…. brown rice, sauce, and a tamale featuring black beans, corn, and tomatoes. And onions, but I’ve decided I can only be captive to one allergy at a time. Just the other day I was wishing for a gluten-free lean cuisine, and Amy’s has a rep for organic tasty frozenness.

Out of the Box

4.5 minutes on high, stir the rice, 3.5 minutes on medium and you get this:

Two bites in

Nom. The tamale had a little of that gluten-free emptiness in the first few bites, but the sauce was pretty good, if mild. There was no chemical grittiness that really gets the rage going, though the taste was pretty bland. Next time I’ll add some GF hot sauce or something. I had reasonable expectations, but I wasn’t seething with rage while eating this! And I didn’t get the tell-tale headache afterwards that I’ve come to recognize as gluten symptomatic. I will definitely add this to my lunch rotation, and keep an eye out for the rest of Amy’s line-up.

Flavor: B

Texture: A- (it’s just not a tamale without chicken in it…)

Level of Gluten-related resentment (on a scale of 1-10): 3.
Past, present and future GlutenFree Fridays:                                                                        (links will be added over time)

  • Amy’s Gluten-free Tamales
  • Aleia’s Gluten-free snickerdoodles
  • Udi’s Gluten-free multi-grain bread
  • Betty Crocker’s Gluten-free Chocolate Chip Cookies
  • Nature’s Path Gluten-free cheerios
  • Jyoti Jaipur Karhi (potato dumplings in milk)
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Gluten-Free Fridays #1

  1. meera says:

    1) Tamales are classically gluten-free, so the “gluten-free emptiness” you describe is either endemic to all tamales or an unfortunate quality of the frozen-foods genre.

    2) Yes tamales *are* tamales without chicken in them.

    3) xo.

  2. mkpheartsnyc says:

    1) no YOU are classically gluten free. I’ve had non-bland-gooshy tamales so I’ll have to blame the frozen-and-sad-sauce combo.

    2) Nothing is anything but what I think things are!!!!! #notcorrect

    3) xoxo

  3. Pingback: Gluten-Free Fridays #2 | MKP-Hearts-NYC, Brooklyn Edition

Leave a Reply

