So, MKP, where are your innovative thought strategy implementation guidlines?

Say what?

Lately I’ve been reading a lot of exciting, motivated, dedicate blogitude – just check my blogroll over there! I’m happy to read and engage with people who know (or have sussed out, or who paid extra for the Super Secret Guide to Blogging) the whens and hows of cultivating an audience. Me? I blog – with the goal of posting something every dayish plus a Gracie picture, and I link to my blog on twitter, and that’s as far as  I go. Because promotion is annoying, step one, and because when I “cultivate” readers “organically” it’s a lot more “fun.”

I mean, my reading habits aren’t that strategic. I have a crapton of people on my Google reader, and occasionally I click through to leave a comment, and occasionally I read other comments and click through to someone’s blog. There’s no science or subliminal technique that I know of, so why would I assume other habits are more regulated?

Also? Blog rules are annoying. Post between 10 and 3. Don’t post too often. Don’t never post.  Retweet throughout the day. When I see people do this? I go grr for a minute.

Sixth and lastly I have very low tolerance (i.e. none tolerance) for business speak, technobabble and jargon that reduces perfectly good syllables to meaningless sound patterns. More than once a day at work I have to ask someone to hold up, go back, and use English – especially when we’re talking about books (which in this digital age are becoming “products”) and writers (“content experts”), and the thingy you use to read them online (content management data hosting systems) (vom).

To sum up: Posting? Good. Mentioning you’ve posted once (maybe twice)? Good. Making sure your goals are aligned with the intentions outlined in your program plan data tribute horsefeather wildebeast section extension outline coalescence? Bad.

This entry was posted in Current Events, Internets and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to So, MKP, where are your innovative thought strategy implementation guidlines?

  1. Suzanne says:

    I often find myself caught up in all those strategies and suggestions and super annoying self-promotion – mostly because I’ve seen it work for a LOT of bloggers. But it is annoying. Seeing someone link-bait on Twitter (I have a big announcement!! – no she’s not pregnant. I’m leaving my husband!!! – for two days for a work trip.) 5 times a day makes me stabby. Blogging for me is like a big group hug, so I want my audience to grow and get more huggy. Of course, once it gets TOO big you start attracting the attention of the trolls and the critics. And that would ruin my love-fest.

    What I am saying is, I like your approach and would be interested in subscribing to your newsletter.

    • mkpheartsnyc says:

      Truefax! It’s weird how it works so well for some people, and can be such a struggle for others. And whenever I see someone trying to do an ill-advised crossover…into a pop singer career or a minor league baseball pitcher I’m always like “but you’re so good at X! Why not just do X!” and yet here I am trying to shoehorn myself in ways that prolly don’t fit.

      I’m not Allie Brosch, I’m not Melissa McEwan (both of whom I luuuuurve), I’m MKP and I should write like her.

Leave a Reply

