Todd Packer Syndrome: An Exploration

So, throughout my life I’ve been confronted with mantypes cut from Todd Packer cloth. If you’ve never seen the American Office, he’s this guy. He’s offensive (deliberately), or he’s ignorant (on purpose), or he just likes saying things that are deliberately inflammatory.

I tend to attract these people because apparently it’s funny when I get steamed up about something. Topics that I frequently have a blown a gasket defending include but are not limited to:

  • Feminism
  • LGBTQ issues
  • American Indian rights/culture/history/identity
  • The MLB National League (the DH is BULLCRAP)
  • Music and arts in public schools
  • Chipotle

Not all causes are created equal, I grant you, but those first two especially are total nonnegotiables. It’s gotten to the point where, when one of them is (deliberately) brought up by the office Todd Packer, I turn into a David Mamet screenplay and just tell him to go to lunch.

I don’t know what it is about these self-important, entitled jackass that makes it a-ok to say things like “What’s with the Native American response to Thanksgiving? I mean, I don’t give a crap. Greater civilizations have been mucking around with lesser civilizations for centuries”

Imagine my face. Now imagine it turning purple with rage. Some people go around so densely wrapped in their own privileged cocoon they think it’s ok to say things like “This cover looks too ‘ethnic’ ” TO A PERSON OF COLOR regarding a book ON CITIZENSHIP. Hint: these people are generally not of color or of any minority status themselves.

I’m probably preaching to the choir by ranting at anyone reading this, but just in case someone finds their way here by googling Office or Jackass – NOBODY LIKES IT.

I have no patience with mantypes who need to assert their Right To Be Assholes over my Right To Feel Safe.

This entry was posted in feminism and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

