Reverb10 Days 10, 11 and 12…

December 10 – Wisdom Wisdom. What was the wisest decision you made this year, and how did it play out? (Author: Susannah Conway)

Hm, leaving a full-time AmeriCorps position for what turned out to be freelancing? Trying to work two practically full time jobs as I recovered from that? No, I’d have to say Gracie. K-Cup and I had talked about getting dog a few times, but when we finally decided that after we renewed our lease, this was the time, we did a lot of preparation, puppy-proofing, research, toy buying. I rearranged my schedule slightly, she rearranged hers, we both stopped making so many weeknight plans… and of course Gracie is a joy forever, so we got lucky.

Gracie, our dog, in a puffy vest

She's totally outgrown that vest now...

December 11 – 11 Things What are 11 things your life doesn’t need in 2011? How will you go about eliminating them? How will getting rid of these 11 things change your life? (Author: Sam Davidson)

This is super timely because I spent most of this weekend throwing crap OUT. So, I could fob this entire prompt off on “The 11 bags of clothes and detritus I removed from my room,” but let’s be a little more thorough, shall we? Frankly I’m disappointed you even suggested that. Geez.

11. Overthinking. I share the post of Queen of Overthinking with a multitude, but I’d really like to get better at taking things at face value, raising concerns when I have them, and letting sleeping dogs lie. Except for Gracie because sometimes I need to squeeze that face a little.

10. Rationalization. Among my many crowns is the one for Queen of Talking Things Right When They Are In Fact Not Right. I’m going to practice “that was a mistake,” “I’m sorry,” and “you’re right” without my usual qualifiers of “but that’s ok because…” or “Well….” to retire my conversational eraser, as it were.

9. Pickles at the Union St Diner. K-Cup and I don’t go here nearly as often as we used to, but pickles from Union St. Diner NEVER taste good and I ALWAYS forget and ask if I can have hers.

8. 2 am bedtimes. Nobody is happy when I’m running on fewer than 5 hours sleep, except purveyors of caffeinated beverages and frankly I don’t think the extra $10 I need to spend to stay awake offsets the cost of doing business with a crankified MKP.

7. Losing metrocards. Ridiculous. I’m going to start stapling them to my keys.

6. Subway Rage. This has a New Year’s Resolution ring to it that makes me think I won’t stick to it past the first jokester who doesn’t realize THERE ARE OTHER PEOPLE TRYING TO GET ON THIS TRAIN. But I’ll give it a shot. Life’s too short to be mad at strangers for no reason.

5. Light reading. By which I don’t mean “read fewer beach books and magazines,” I just mean read more. I am a booky person and I need to get back into the habit of carrying a book for entertainment instead of relying on my phone Monopoly nemeses.

4. I could say something about eating take-out here, or resolving to eschew *insert judged food item* but let’s face it, I like my food. I will instead say, “Eating without figuring out if I’m hungry.”

3. Flippant-for-no-reason. Responding to Gigantor after he says something with “No you’re a *something he just said*” because apparently he doesn’t like it. All other flippancy will stay the course.

2. Clothes that are falling apart. I need to purge my sock drawer in particular – I’m a total Shopping in Lieu of Laundry bandit when it comes to underwear, socks and undershirts, so now the ones I was too lazy to wash need to be thrown out so the new stuff can be fully embraced.

1. MKP’s Inner Bully. Life’s too, too short. I’ll save the rage for the subway strangers if it means cutting myself a break now and then. Also, I could do without Luke Wilson commercials.

December 12 – Body Integration This year, when did you feel the most integrated with your body? Did you have a moment where there wasn’t mind and body, but simply a cohesive YOU, alive and present? (Author: Patrick Reynolds)

When I first got my bike, I had to get used to the sensation of thinking “I should pull over” and then making the necessary adjustments (quell the shaking, whip the head around to see who’s behind me, do it again but a little slower so I can actually see, etc). Eventually once I got the hang of it, flying down 5th avenue with minimal car traffic felt pretty awesome – it was like a whole ‘nother perspective on my favorite borough had opened up. Like I was going to discover new parts of it because I could get to them more easily, and it was this combination of navigation-brain and pedalling-legs that was going to get me there. Plus/Minus the adrenaline that made me SURE I WAS GOING TO DIE.

This entry was posted in Reverb10 and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

