Reverb10 – Day 9

December 9 – Party Prompt: Party. What social gathering rocked your socks off in 2010? Describe the people, music, food, drink, clothes, shenanigans. (Author: Shauna Reid)

I keep coming up against the same answers for all these prompts. Hm. I guess there was this benefit I helped plan back in the spring for the nonprofit I was assigned to with the Do-Gooders….but I felt totally out of place there for the most part. As my earlier fugue state regarding large amounts of money may have indicated, I have no affinity for wealth or the wealthy. I like to have as much money to do the things I like, but not so much that people with money think we have something in common. This benefit was like many others, only more so – good food, auctions for things people don’t really need but want to convince themselves they should have because It’s For Charity, stressful moments for public speaking, technical glitches, staying late to wait out the last reveling few….

I guess what I did like about it was….. nothing. It didn’t rock my socks because I had to take my socks off and put on heels.

Ooh, here’s a good one, Gigantor’s laser tag 18th birthday party! There’s something special about going to a venue (i.e. the Ultrazone in Sterling VA- HOLLABACK, NERDS!) that I first visited as a wide-eyed 14-year-old with my pack of friends, and revisiting it with my brother and his pack of friends. They’d revamped the map and the packs and the laser guns slightly, though they’d added a truly horrendous Safety Video instead of the Bored Employee Talking As Fast As Possible Speech, and we had an absolute blast.

Afterwards we all went to the Silver Diner for junk food and milk shakes and Embarrass The Birthday Boy singing that would have sent Aged P fleeing to the parking lot to “make a phone call” until it was over, (unless there was an opportunity to embarrass me by singing “Some Enchanted Evening”…). Because Gigantor is such a good kid, he has damn good friends and it was nice to have them all rounded up in the same place to enjoy it.

This entry was posted in Reverb10 and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Reverb10 – Day 9

  1. Suzanne says:

    Dude, I ALWAYS WANTED to go to the Ultrazone but was so not cool enough in high school. But singing along with the music at Silver Diner was definitely a well established high school tradition. It helps when half your friends work there and give you free milkshakes. DRUNK ON MILKSHAKES!!!

    • mkpheartsnyc says:

      Not…not cool enough? There were full grown adults with actual USERNAMES that tracked EVERY VISIT trying to shoot the crap out of 12-year-olds. I think you’d have been the bomb dot com.

Leave a Reply

