Two quick but awesome NYC moments

Saturday I set out in pursuit of some relaxing rituals I hadn’t had time for since freaking August…i.e. pani/pedi from my favorite not-expensive-or-froofy nail salon, Pink (jingle toes and a manicure I chipped seconds after I got home, thanks Gracie)….and a haircut.

Important: I have no tolerance for haircuts that cost more than $40. I’ll only pay $30 because I really like Dramatics NYC…but now that I don’t work near the Dramatics NYC that I really like, I needed to find something closer to home.  I peeked in the windows of both of the Feuding Fancy Salons (some months ago, Salon A posted a jubilant “Mark from Salon B is now working here!” while Salon B posted a sulky “Wanted: Stylist With Professional Demeanor” sign before celebrating the arrival of “Cindy”) and decided that $80 was waaay too much to pay for this cropped top of mine.

I kept moving down 5th avenue and right across from Gracie’s favorite pet store (ok, it’s her second favorite because the one by J.J. Byrne Park gives her treats) was Imagen Unisex. Family place, haircut – “You want with scissors or with the machines?” -$20 (with the scissors, jesus). Proprieter gets to work, finishes telling me about the 94-year-old woman whose nails she just finished painting, asks my name.

“Miranda” I say.

“Amanda?”

Miranda”

“Brenda?”

I pause… “Mee-rahnda,” I say, flipping the “r”

“Ohh, Meerahnda! Nice to meet you.”

* * * * *

I’m riding home from Hate Mail last night and a teenager in jeans and a hoodie is approaching each passenger in turn –

“Hey, would you happen to have a dollar or some change – I’m trying to get something to eat…”

*passenger shakes head*

“Hey, would you happen to have a dollar or some change – I’m trying to get something to eat…”

*passenger avoids eye contact*

“Hey, would you happen to have a dollar or some change – I’m trying to get something to eat…”

*pretty girl looks up, shakes head*

“Hey, your hair looks Italian – are you Italian?”

*pretty girl shakes head*

“I’m Italian. Hey, you gotta boyfriend?”

*pretty girl nods emphantically*

“oh, ok.” *moves on* “Hey, would you happen to have a dollar or some change. . .”

I burst out laughing as soon as he’d moved on – I told her she should have said after looking him up and down “Not anymore,”

This entry was posted in mta and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

