Reverb10 – Day 5

December 5 – Let Go. What (or whom) did you let go of this year? Why?

(Author: Alice Bradley)

I had this friend from a few years ago who I was always chasing, trying to capture their attention, and this year I was finally able to unclench enough that they didn’t feel like I was being needy and actually reached out to me in the parlance of internet friendship. I’ve noticed a lot of cliches finally making sense to me recently – things I always thought were “just things people said” are apparently rooted in actual human experience (who knew?).

Advice I’d give my 16-year-old self now includes “No, SERIOUSLY, if you love someone set them free, and also don’t forget to bring a book and an airbag friend to social events, and FOR REAL, be yourself and choose your friends from the people who respond to you, not from the people who are constantly distancing themselves or letting you down.”

This entry was posted in Reverb10 and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

