Day 3

December 3 – Moment.

Pick one moment during which you felt most alive this year. Describe it in vivid detail (texture, smells, voices, noises, colors).

(Author: Ali Edwards)

I’d say the moment I felt most alive in 2010 was at a conference of sober young people I got to attend – it was the annual international conference, so folks came from all over the world, and this happened to be the year NYC was selected to host, so it was convenient and all kinds of awesome. I got to attend conference events Thursday through Saturday, and every evening capped off with a DJ’d dance party.

A ballroom full of diverse sober young folks, insistent bass, the irresistible chorus of Empire State of Mind surrounding us and demanding we throw our hands up and point slightly above the stage – I was in sneakers, jeans and a t-shirt but I rocked out with my compatriots, occasionally shouting a greeting above the music but mostly just waving or exchanging hugs in the blinking flickering shades of light emanating from the colorful lamps above the DJ’s head. We bounced so hard the portable parquet dance floor laid over the carpet started acting like a trampoline and I felt like I was being flung higher and higher, yet somehow I left with my feet more firmly on the ground.

This entry was posted in Reverb10, Sober living and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

