Day 1

Just to get me started (and while I wait for my August-November archives to import from Livejournal), I’m going to kick off with an entry in Reverb10, thanks to a tip by the lovely Chiasmata of Livejournal Fame….

December 1 One Word.
Encapsulate the year 2010 in one word. Explain why you’re choosing that word. Now, imagine it’s one year from today, what would you like the word to be that captures 2011 for you?
(Author: Gwen Bell)

I would say 2010 means one thing to me: WORK

2009 was a year of SHIFTS – from employed to unemployed, from Manhattan to Brooklyn, from publishing to AmeriCorps, from aspiring editor to aspiring teacher to despairing human being….

2010 saw me go from AmeriCorps arts ed nonprofit placement to freelance TV writer/researcher in a dramatic move from WORK ALL THE TIME to Work HARD but…at Designated Intervals. Then I was invited back to my old publisher, the one that I last saw as I tearfully left toting the traditional Box o’Office Crap, for some temp work.

As I felt that was ending, I reached out for something, anything that would let me Stay In New York, and found a retail gig. Then a different publishing job fell in my lap, and I completed the move from editorial (i.e. Paperwork Central) to production (i.e. You Write It We Write All Over It…Central) departments and began to look ahead to (*knock wood* ) graduate school – if not this year then next year. To recap: Jan-Jun – Day job, Jun-Aug – freelance job, Aug-Sep – Day job, Sep-Nov Evenings+weekends job + Day job. Oy.

Basically after a year of Suddenly Ending employment and no employment and poverty stipend, I spent this year working hard and a lot, and in particular the period from September 17 to November 20 in which I had NONE full days off.

2010 can be summed up with “Work” not because it was hard to slog through (though ye gods, it was), but because this was the first year I didn’t just coast or thrash around trying to grab onto something, anything, but quick so I don’t drown. Instead I a) worried about money a LOT and b) participated in a search for what was meaningful and important to me (oh and also what will pay me cash money while inducing the fewest possible thoughts of self-immolation) and I think I’ve got my feet under me for the moment.

This was also a year of personal work – in case you didn’t know, I’ll have been sober for four years in February. And in case you further didn’t know, I finally came out and started dating girls. And just in case you really REALLY haven’t been paying attention, my roommate adopted a gorgeous puppy that I get to help care for. I have been doing some WORK this year, y’all. And I’ve still got a month to go, so don’t expect it to be all wrapped up in time for a tidy New Year’s Resolution.

View of the World Trade Center under construction and office buildings in lower Manhattan

Work in Progress

 

I hope 2011 will be a year of Achievement. I hope to achieve some goals I’ve set out for myself, both personally and professionally – at the very least I want to have Stretched my capabilities and talents from what I know into what I can only imagine.

This entry was posted in Reverb10 and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Day 1

  1. Pingback: *grumble grumble* | MKP-Hearts-NYC, Brooklyn Edition

Leave a Reply

