Reverb10 – Day 2

December 2 Writing.
What do you do each day that doesn’t contribute to your writing — and can you eliminate it?
(Author: Leo Babauta)

Aside from the hobbies that take up time and brainpan space…the biggest thing I do that’s hurting my writing right now is ping-ponging between I Am So Awesome and My Writing Isn’t Worth Reading.  My chosen creative non-fiction field includes everything from memoir and personal essay to (arts) criticism and traveloguey-ness, and as I put together my portfolio for *crosses fingers* grad school applyingification, I keep coming to this crevasse of “you have nothing to say-ay-ay-ay-ay.”

I think the solution is focusing on the positive – all my reviews are about things that are not-me, and I’m going to submit at least one New York piece (possibly based on something from this very blog)…. and repeating some Stuart Smalley style affirmations.

This entry was posted in Reverb10 and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

