I’m here to talk to you today about some very important things.

And those things are?

TV shows and movies I have been watching.

1. Scott Pilgrim Vs The World – Amazingsauce. If you are a nerd and you like movies, music, comics, video games and any of the Culkins, you are set for life with this movie. It is enjoyable,  it is funny, the music is great, the nerdery is prolific… just go see it. So far critics have failed at raving about it because they a) don’t understand comic movies b) don’t understand comic movies that do not involve Christian Bale c) they forgot what it was like to be a total dork or d) Someone took their sled away when they were children. 

B. Planet Earth: The Documentary Series. Apparently there are two versions – the one from the Beebs, which features the dulcet tones of David Attenborough, and the Amrikan one, starring the sounds of Sigourney Weaver. I am currently obsessed/engrossed/repulsed by the British one, largely because it is much more satisfying to yell back at Attenborough whenever he shows me something I am 90% sure cannot possibly exist outside some mad cartoonist’s brainpan. Seriously – this planet is so weird. 

I keep making the mistake of watching it before I go to bed, since I tend to think nature documentaries and think soothing, relaxing, screensavery. This is not that nature doc. This one features a lot of animals fighting and eating eachother – and it manages to get you caught up and invested in the Good Guy winning without anthropomorphizing or giving them funny voices or Shakespearean names. You’re also vaguely aware that this is how nature works – sometimes the sharp-toothed one has to eat the cute fluffy one, and that’s just how it goes.

And then sometimes there are these Australian flat lizards with colorful tummies who leap up into the air to catch black flies and it is pretty much the most hilarious, charming thing ever. Everybody wins! Except the black flies! 

#. Life. As in the series starring Damien Lewis, not …you know… actual life. Life aired two season on NBC from 2007-09, and depending on how far they get in these two seasons, it’s well on track to supplant Defying Gravity as the best show not on TV right now that is not Firefly or Wonderfalls. For serious.

The premise is, a cop (Lewis) served 12 years for the brutal murders of his best friend, his bf’s wife and kid. Murders he did not commit. He found a noble hot lawyer to re-open the case, and now he’s out with a hefty cash settlement and bearing a detective’s badge. What I love about this series is the tone (light but not irreverent, quirky but not gawky) and the craft with which the writers are depicting not only a broken, hurting guy trying to zen his way back to life, but his ladycop partner, her lady-lieutenant boss, his lady-lawyer, and his sort of hapless ex-con business manager. Basically, lots of good roles for women, interesting cases, novel approaches to crime solving, general awesomesaucery all around. 

Damien Lewis makes for a funny American…half Patrick Dempsey, half Kevin Costner playing Bahstonian. 

Also, he and his partner look like this:


 They’re the two very attractive people in the middle, but the show avoids being Bones 2.0 (unlike Castle, which I desperately want to like but haven’t yet managed to do so far) by having a whole other character absorb the sexual tension so the cop-cop relationship is as buddy-buddy as it should be instead of giving the viewer an incessant "when are they going to just start makking" inner monologue. 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to I’m here to talk to you today about some very important things.

  1. lupinlover says:

    I have no interest in Scott Pilgrim because it’s Michael Cera doing the same role again and I am sick of it! Though I’m surprised to hear a good review and perhaps will tune into it in a few years when it’s on TV.

    • False! It is not the same role! It looks like the same role from the previews, and it sounds like the same role because that is his style of delivery, but among other things, we actually see Michael Cera MOVE in this film. Like, move quickly. And run, and play music, and be kind of a bad person, and then become self aware, and it is all fantastic. TRUST.

    • False! It is not the same role! It looks like the same role from the previews, and it sounds like the same role because that is his style of delivery, but among other things, we actually see Michael Cera MOVE in this film. Like, move quickly. And run, and play music, and be kind of a bad person, and then become self aware, and it is all fantastic. TRUST.

  2. tarpo says:

    I loved Life (the NBC One) it was just the right balance of funny and serious copshow. I hated that it was cancelled but if you need to go out.. That last episode was PERFECT.

  3. Anonymous says:

    I’m not anonymous, I’m Suzanne but I forget my LJ password
    You don’t like Castle!? I’m not sure we can be friends. Everyone likes Castle, even if only for the Halloween episode where Castle dresses up as a “space cowboy” with an outfit he just found hanging in his closet.
    So British “Life” is set in America? Because as much as I have tried to get into the always superior English versions of various shows I cannot for the life of me understand what the EFF people are saying. See: The Office, Coupling, etc.

  4. Re: I’m not anonymous, I’m Suzanne but I forget my LJ password
    Haha – Hi Suzanne 🙂
    I did lovelove that scene, and I love lots of individual moments of tone and dialogue, but I don’t find the mysteries at all compelling. My favorite cop shows are/were The Closer and Bones, both of which grab me and hang the heck on for the full hour. Castle I could coast by. Believe me, I really REALLY wanted to like it.
    Was “Life” a British show? Damien Lewis is British, but the show is American…and not British.
    True fact: I have had to watch episodes of Hot Robin Hood and Merlin with the subtitles on until I got my BritWits about me.

  5. I’m only 4 episodes in and I can’t wait for my next installment.

  6. tarpo says:

    You are in for a treat. I don’t think there was a single bad episode.

Leave a Reply

