There’s a hole in my time sieve

Or my hourglass or a missing cog in my pocket watch, or something, because I don’t know if you’ve noticed but time is slipping, slipping, slipping, into the future.

One minute I’m opening my eyes sleepily and trying to figure out if it’s 5 am or pm based on the light outside my window since I can in no way distinguish the little dot on either of my clock radios. Plus one of my clock radios is 11 minutes ahead while the other is now a full 5 hours off because its batteries fell out. So then I grope for my phone hoping it will have more knowledge for me, but it’s all busy with the ‘you’ve got email" screen so before I can even open both eyes at the same time I’m trying to squint-read emails that seem Very Important during the 5 am/pm haze but will later turn out to be auto-notifications from the piercing website where I order my ear-piercing soap business.

Not that I have gotten a new piercing in over a year – why am I still subscribed to that site, anyway? 

And more to the point, what TIME is it? Having determined that it is in fact 5 am, and remembering that I went to bed around 2:30, I go back to sleep. 

When I really wake up, covered in humidity that has seeped in from the treacherous outdoors, the clocks tell me it’s either 11:30 or still 5:30. At least I know it’s definitely AM instinctively. If by instinct you mean "the sound of traffic," the "degree of heat" and the "dew point of my face." 

If it’s a writing day, I tend to wake up by 9, research or wallow for a couple of hours in sit-com inspiration land (currently rewatching Scrubs with an occasional dash of Wallace and Gromit or The Office). Then I write and write until my assignment is done. Or until I hit the Wall of Unfunny, slip into the Valley of Total Failure or carom into the Turnoff of Low Blood Sugar. So then I usually eat something and keep writing.

If it’s not a writing day, and I’m not anticipating any kind of assignment, and there is really truly nothing to do besides look for work or sleep more… I will probably sleep more. This past year of Do-Goodery, while good for the soul and the karma and gauging the level of gut-churning tension the body can stand….was stressful. And I’ve been enjoying the sleep, and the work that primarily involves making myself laugh and trusting that someone else will have a giggle at the words I have arranged as well. 

Whether it’s a writing day or not, I eventually reach a stage of Internet Blur Vision, where it is crucial that I get up and go outside. If I just try to switch to reading a book or playing my keyboard or cooking some ramen or watching TV instead of multi-tasking with my laptop, before long I will forget that I put away my laptop because my eyes went blurry and I’ll pick up the laptop again. 

So I’ve been enjoying some outside time when it’s not so hot that I loathe everything in the world. The Brooklyn Cyclones give away free jerseys every Thursday so naturally I’m trying to arrange the rest of my summer so that I collect Every. Single. Jersey. If only they’d give away a windbreaker. 

Somehow after coming in from outdoors time (i.e. wandering around Park Slope picking out houses I would live in if the zombies cleared out the current residents), taking my 3rd shower of the day and unwrapping the latest netflix, I manage to dispose of anywhere from 3-10 hours. I might notice I’m tired around 9, and if I "Just want to check one something" online, I won’t notice that time is a thing again until 1 am. At which point the only prudent thing to do is "Watch just one more something" online until I fall asleep. Except Rugrats leads me to Firefly which leads me to Merlin which leads me to Buffy which leads me to 4 am and a vague sense that something has gone awry. 

Fortunately, tomorrow is a writing day so some semblance of order will be restored. I really do like having a flexible schedule…I just wish it was more like a crazy straw, which at least straightens out at the beginning and end, and less like what happened that time Gigantor tied my slinky in like, eleventy dozen knots. 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

