Laurence Stern’s “A Sentimental Journey?”

What follows is a book meme. Read on at your own peril…

1. What author do you own the most books by? JK Rowling and Jane Austen

2. What book do you own the most copies of? Jane Eyre (prepare for this whole thing to be a trifle Eyre-heavy, y’all)

3. Did it bother you that both those questions ended with prepositions? Yup, and it bothers me that you had to ask.

4. What fictional character are you secretly in love with? There’s nothing secret about my Mr. Rochester fixation, though I’m also fond of Landen Park-Laine from The Eyre Affair and Phillip Ammon from Girl of the Limberlost

4a. What fictional character would you most like to be? Thursday Next or Harry Potter (I’ve apparently got a three-track mind)

4b. What fictional character do you think most resembles you? That’s super tricky – I did read a couple of great YA books about girls named Miranda growing up all of whom I identified with (shockingly) – maybe Miranda Bartlett, from Marathon Miranda because she hated running and liked eating ice cream.

5. What book have you read the most times in your life? Jane Eyre

6. What was your favorite book when you were ten years old? ….Jane Eyre. And also The Egypt Game and From The Mixed-up Files of Mrs. Basil E. Frankweiler.

7. What is the worst book you’ve read in the past year? Probably whichever Twilight book I flipped through at the bookstore last.

8. What’s the best book you’ve read in the past year: Shirley or America’s Women – both rocked my feminist socks in different ways. OH – Girl With The Dragon Tattoo and the rest of the Millenium series!!

9. If you could force everyone to read one book, what would it be? Would I also be able to force them through reading comprehension questions so they know WHY it’s so awesome? Full Frontal Feminism, which I just sent home to Gigantor, or Body Outlaws.

10. Who deserves to win the next Nobel Prize for literature? Stieg Larsson, posthumously.

11. What book would you most like to see made into a movie? Phantom Tollbooth, Garth Nix’s Sabriel-Lirael-Abhorson trilogy, and the rest of the Phillip Pullman trilogy. Or Fforde’s new series, which started with Shades of Gray. Don’t talk to me about the Tollbooth cartoon – I won’t hear it and I won’t respond to it.

12. What book would you least like to see made into a movie? The Eyre Affair – too much of its humor is in the visual wordplay and book jokes.

13. Describe your weirdest dream involving a writer, book, or literary character.

Once I dreamt I was dead after reading Christopher Pike’s Remember Me…I was haunting my house and an ice rink where I hadn’t been since I was 6, trying to get my parents’ attention.

14. What is the most lowbrow book you’ve read as an adult? I am shocked, SHOCKED at the suggestion that…uh… ok, I kind of madly love Joan Hess’ mysteries about rural Arkansas.

15. What is the most difficult book you’ve ever read? Beowulf. Only book I ever had to set aside because my eyes were tired from rolling at it.

16. What is the most obscure Shakespeare play you’ve seen? Timon of Athens

17. Do you prefer the French or the Russians? Generally, the French because I start wanting to shake the Russians and shout "CHEER UP – IT’S NOT THAT BAD"

18. Roth or Updike? Neither. Blech.

19. David Sedaris or Dave Eggers? Sedaris. He is my kind of crazy, only more so. Having a voice as clear as his and a story-telling manner as engaging as his are two of my biggest writerly goals.

20. Shakespeare, Milton, or Chaucer? Shakespeare. DoiHEY, SURVEY WRITER…WHERE ARE THE LADYWRITERS?

21. Austen or Eliot? Austen, but to be fair I’ve only paged through Eliot. (OK, BUT WHERE ARE THE REST?)

22. What is the biggest or most embarrassing gap in your reading? …Eliot? I haven’t read many of the Latin and Greek Classics or the Staples of Western Literature…I’d start churning through the Harvard Classics my dad has but I get so annoyed at the scarcity of women I’d never finish.

23. What is your favorite novel? Have I not made this crazy-clear? It’s Jane Eyre, unless it’s Shirley or Villette. Or the Eyre Affair. Or Harry Potter, Persuasion or Ender’s Game. Or Dune. Or anything by P.G. Wooster. Oh. I see where the confusion came from.

24. Play? King Lear, Much Ado About Nothing, Death of a Salesman, 12 Angry Men, and you have no idea how sad it makes me that I can’t think of any other female playwrights besides Lillian Hellman.

25. Poem? Neruda’s Tonight I Can Write the Saddest Lines

26. Essay? Anything from Body Outlaws, or David Sedaris’ When You Are Engulfed in Flames or Me Talk Pretty One Day.

27. Short story? Do some of the Sherlock Holmes stories count as short? It’s not a form I read all that often because I feel like it gets you up to a running start only to find yourself off a cliff, Wile E. Coyote style.

28. Work of nonfiction? Gail Collins – America’s Women and When Everything Changed

29. Who is your favorite writer? Aside from everyone I’ve already mentioned here, all of whom are my absolute favorites…. Noel Streatfield?

30. Who is the most overrated writer alive today? Dan Brown and Stephanie Meyer

31. What is your desert island book? To Build a Boat? I feel boring saying Jane Eyre again, plus it’s not that long, so maybe The Girl Who Played With Fire

32. And … what are you reading right now? The Girl Who Kicked The Hornets’ Nest, When Everything Changed, and I’m circling around Vanity Fair and The Professor.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Laurence Stern’s “A Sentimental Journey?”

  1. lupinlover says:

    Christopher Pike, hell yeah. I love whenever I see him get a mention. I think he has a brilliant mind– the plots he comes up with are stellar.

  2. lupinlover says:

    Christopher Pike, hell yeah. I love whenever I see him get a mention. I think he has a brilliant mind– the plots he comes up with are stellar.

Leave a Reply

