Dude, check out that worm. It’s like, turning.

Remember when I was all super chipper and upbeat about my professional writing prospects and my "abilities" to "fulfill" "expectations"?

Funny how that comes crashing down when you’re faced with a second hockey clip about which you know next to nothing except HAHA HOW ABOUT THOSE WEIRD MASKS AMIRITE?!?!?! 

People not to ask for reassurance that your life and estimation of your self worth were not all a lie: The Roommate Formerly Known as Mtastic. 

Mtastic is very awesome at very many things, i.e. listening to my Zac Ephron obsession, indulging my delayed reaction Queer as Folk fangirl hysteria, attending musical theater in large quantities, ushering at small theaters of dubious quality, encouraging my worst impulse control as far as junk food goes, listening to David Archuleta non-ironically with me…. 

But leading me calmly and gently back from the brink of the abyss is not really her bag. Poking me towards the abyss while simultaneously moving it closer is really more her thing. Because she thinks it is funny. She sees a shame spiral and thinks "Whirlygig! Spin faster!" I panic, she cranks it up to eleven because she has heard Paul Gross say "The best things always happen just before the thread snaps" way too many times. 

Still, it’ll all be ok if I can just get through this assignment and pass the Trial by Fire that I’m certain the first editing session will be. And if the first one’s not that bad, it’ll be that second one. And if by some miracle I survive the second one unbruised, my god the third one will be the most painful experience ever felt by a non-child-birthing individual.

You can see why my confidence needs a bit of a boost. 

I mean, not because I’m a total failure masquerading as a person with skills, or anything, much less a person who gave notice for the first time to take a major personal risk entirely dependent on her ability to KEEP HER SHIZZ TOGETHER…… *ahem* 

So. How was y’all’s evening? 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to Dude, check out that worm. It’s like, turning.

  1. meopta says:

    Three times I talked myself into a job I had no effing clue how to perform. Twice it worked out. Once the boss was a jerk and a certain diva tennis star – but I digress.
    Breathe. Research. Bluff. Without the middle step it’s called journalism.

  2. meopta says:

    Three times I talked myself into a job I had no effing clue how to perform. Twice it worked out. Once the boss was a jerk and a certain diva tennis star – but I digress.
    Breathe. Research. Bluff. Without the middle step it’s called journalism.

  3. merelyn says:

    I’M JUST A TRUTH TELLER, OKAY?

  4. merelyn says:

    I’M JUST A TRUTH TELLER, OKAY?

Leave a Reply

