A word on behalf of the shorthaired

 Here’s the thing. There is no Opt Out choice I can make as a woman about my appearance. If I grow my hair long, it Says Something. If I cut it short, it Says Something. Straighten it, curl it, dye it, braid it, everything is a Statement. There’s also no way I can wear it that renders me free from the likelihood of being harassed on the street or, as it turns out, by someone I know. 

This is also true for Elena Kagan. Whether she looked like herself or like Meryl Streep or like Scarlett Johansson, a disproportionate amount of the scrutiny she gets as the Supreme Court vetting process begins (that is to say, any amount at all) will be on her appearance. 

Oh Noes! She resembles what we in our heads believe lesbians look like! Oh Noes! Lesbians in the courtroom! Clearly, they couldn’t possibly be qualified because there is something inherent in Gay DNA that renders the law a mass of unreadable words and documents, so instead of  rendering opinions, Teh Gayz just consult the Radical Gay Agenda when deciding a case! NOT IN MY COURT. 

*ahem* 

This has been written about thoughtfully and with a minimum of explanation points here, here, and here

I’m just saying, I remember Harriet Meiers, W’s sad attempt to put forth a female Supreme Court nominee before she had to withdraw in disgrace so Samuel Alito could realign the White Dude status quo. Kagan ain’t no Meiers, even if she is more progressive than liberal.

Plus, Mets fan.

C’mon. 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to A word on behalf of the shorthaired

  1. kid_lit_fan says:

    At a wedding where I was on the groom’s side, I overheard friends of the bride saying “Why is that one woman wearing a tux and her hair down? Is she a lesbian?”
    I was wearing a tux because I was on the groom’s side and the bride and I had thought about putting me in a bridemaid’s dress, tux jacket w/skirt, etc, and decided that it was easiest and most congenuous to just let me wear a damn tux. I had my hair down because 4 men (two of them my gay roommates, one the groom and one my then-fiance) veto’ed my updo because “it looks so nice down”). And what did being a lesbian have to do with either choice, or with whether I was worthy of standing on the groom’s side?
    And, since I am a lady, I didn’t lasciviously say “Why don’t you ask the groom if I’m a lesbian, he has goooood reason to know I’m NOT!” (Mind you, that situation was years before the wedding.).
    Seriously, how sad is the gender dichotomy that any deviance (including having your girlishly-long hair not teased to heaven) makes you a lesbian? And, if they didn’t want to have sex with me, whoTF cares? The only thing being a lesbian (if indeed she is, and whoTF cares) would disqualify Kagen from is sleeping with men, which, last I checked, was not necessary for judicial functionality.
    Also, it plays in with the “We have to play this game, how dare she not?” thing. Kagen is somehow sucessfull without obviously spending at least 45 minutes on her hair every morning. How dare she? But if she was too “feminine,” people would say she’d gotten her job by sleeping with the president. As you said, there is no opt-out.

  2. kid_lit_fan says:

    At a wedding where I was on the groom’s side, I overheard friends of the bride saying “Why is that one woman wearing a tux and her hair down? Is she a lesbian?”
    I was wearing a tux because I was on the groom’s side and the bride and I had thought about putting me in a bridemaid’s dress, tux jacket w/skirt, etc, and decided that it was easiest and most congenuous to just let me wear a damn tux. I had my hair down because 4 men (two of them my gay roommates, one the groom and one my then-fiance) veto’ed my updo because “it looks so nice down”). And what did being a lesbian have to do with either choice, or with whether I was worthy of standing on the groom’s side?
    And, since I am a lady, I didn’t lasciviously say “Why don’t you ask the groom if I’m a lesbian, he has goooood reason to know I’m NOT!” (Mind you, that situation was years before the wedding.).
    Seriously, how sad is the gender dichotomy that any deviance (including having your girlishly-long hair not teased to heaven) makes you a lesbian? And, if they didn’t want to have sex with me, whoTF cares? The only thing being a lesbian (if indeed she is, and whoTF cares) would disqualify Kagen from is sleeping with men, which, last I checked, was not necessary for judicial functionality.
    Also, it plays in with the “We have to play this game, how dare she not?” thing. Kagen is somehow sucessfull without obviously spending at least 45 minutes on her hair every morning. How dare she? But if she was too “feminine,” people would say she’d gotten her job by sleeping with the president. As you said, there is no opt-out.

Leave a Reply

