We should prolly also agree that boys are stupid

And that dating is basically an exercise in "Who Can Go Without Committing a Dealbreaker The Longest." AYF and Jersey boy were basically in a tie, except it looked like AYF was withdrawing from competition. Aaand then Jerseyboy made one of those first official date faux pas that make you question what’s so great about other human beings anyway because clearly they’ve become overrated….And it shook me up. Nobody likes to hear the ramblings of a hopeless hopeful romantic, so I wallowed and moped and stayed in with the lights turned off and watched an entire disc of The Big Bang Theory and omitted the Most Important Rebound Technique Ever – pints of ice cream. Which is why the wallowing lasted a day longer than it should have – it became an existential crisis instead of just a Boys Suck Backlash.

BUT! The other best rebound technique is of course the hair of the dog…aka AYF. He agreed to only wear his A-Rod as Centaur t-shirts every other day, and I agreed not to doodle Mrs. Daniel Murphy on paper napkins every time we hung out, so progress is TBD on that front.

NOW. Back to the important stuff. Aka my fabulous life.

* * * * *

At last Sunday’s Madmen season finale party, I got to meet and snag a picture with Paul Kinsey (Michael Giadis), while dressed as Joanily as possible (The finale? ZOMG. Can’t even TELL YOU how much I love this show).

Thursday I got to usher at The Women’s Project, where Rachel Katz nee Menken was appearing in Or, a "postmodern Restoration comedy" that was hilarious and clever. It captured that same theatrical magic Eddie Izzard did where it created an illusion that you then accepted as solid fact – there were only 3 actors playing as many as 7 characters, and I was still convinced they were going to walk in on eachother…er… themselves. Thoroughly delightful, and the house manager is fantastic (Hi Seth!).

The MKP family unit descends on Manhattan next week – I’m singing in a concert on Sunday, for which the mater will be in attendance, and we’re reviving the MKP Thanksgiving Traditions with a play (Our Town) and a musical (I think we settled on Next to Normal but it’s likely a gametime decision). There will also probably be museums and a movie or two, plus I still need to see Ragtime and Finian’s Rainbow and Billy Elliot and In The Heights. Plus, only Gigantor has been introduced to HousingWorks, El Museo Del Barrio has just reopened, mom still hasn’t seen my apartment —

Wait…. my family will be in my apartment. FoodieRoomie keeps the kitchen exquisitely clean but my room…uh…. let’s just say Rosie the Robot was supposed to come over after she finished Jane and Elroy’s playroom but …uh…. may have taken a left at Albequerque and uh…

How about those players of barbarism football? They sure are…uh… likely to wind up paralyzed, huh?! LOOK OVER HERE:

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to We should prolly also agree that boys are stupid

  1. meopta says:

    She’s like a more brilliant version of Cher.
    OMG she wore the lobster shoes!!!!

    • She’s Cher with stronger pipes and without the need for/burden of a controlling manager, his’n’hers act or *fingers crossed* nose job. SO OBSESSED with this song. Someday I too want to crawl out of a space coffin wearing Glinda the Good Witch’s crown pulled down over my face.
      What I also love about this video are those close ups on her face where she’s saying the lyrics reflectively – “Yeah, that was a really crappy romance” – it’s so contrasting with everything else about the song and video and oh god why can’t I stop clicking play?

    • She’s Cher with stronger pipes and without the need for/burden of a controlling manager, his’n’hers act or *fingers crossed* nose job. SO OBSESSED with this song. Someday I too want to crawl out of a space coffin wearing Glinda the Good Witch’s crown pulled down over my face.
      What I also love about this video are those close ups on her face where she’s saying the lyrics reflectively – “Yeah, that was a really crappy romance” – it’s so contrasting with everything else about the song and video and oh god why can’t I stop clicking play?

  2. meopta says:

    She’s like a more brilliant version of Cher.
    OMG she wore the lobster shoes!!!!

  3. Anonymous says:

    I lettered in Varsity Barbarism.
    -G

  4. Anonymous says:

    I lettered in Varsity Barbarism.
    -G

Leave a Reply

