Upper West Side Story

Here’s a tale of woe from the always relevant NY Times, which seems to think anyone under 30 who is unmarried, shares an apartment and can only afford like, a $3K a month apartment is worthy of a "Aren’t they needy" profile. Oh, and it helps to be blonde. And twins. Who like sports.

As someone who was searching for work all-too-recently, who is also told frequently that there are office clerk and Sonic waitstaff positions available in the midwest, and who does NOT live in a $2900 apartment on West 73rd street, I have some real advice for these ladies:

1. The article mentions that one of them works 3 nights a week and earns about $2400 a month. This is more than I have made at any job I have held, ever. You are not unemployed, you are a bartender with four free days a week to job hunt. Shut up.
2. Stop sending people cookies. I can’t imagine an industry where that might be considered professional.
3. Stop going to happy hours and Starbucks if your lives are oh-so-hard. Oh, I know, move off the UWS.
4. Go to grad school.

I know how hard and scary and stressful unemployment is. I still don’t feel "really" employed since I know this year of service is up in July. And I’m also reasonably sure that if I had received an actual job offer at the same time I was interviewing for this year of living-on-a-stipend, I’d have probably taken it in a heartbeat. But there weren’t any – and I didn’t know what I wanted to do either. I was looking for administrative assistant jobs because I didn’t want to stay in publishing and didn’t have the gumption to "try and make it" as a writer.

Even now my best plan so far is to find a part time job in an office that will allow me to go to grad school at night. I want to teach – I’d do it through the Teaching Fellows if they were hiring next year, but I’m starting to prepare myself for the practicalities of it. A friend asked about my plans for next year, and when  I vaguely said "Grad school" he said "Oh, to start in the fall?" and I said "uhhhh" because… jeebus. This means GREs and applications and letters of rec and essays about Why I Think Liking Books Will Change The World.

Anyway, the point is, I don’t know who the Times is trying to hurt/help/inspire/annoy with these articles. They’re in the same vein as the ones where the recent graduates are miserable they can’t find a loft in the Village, or that jackass who had trouble buying a place in the Financial District and finding people to go to the ballet with him, or any number of smug parents looking for just the right private charter school for their precious dumpling while public school kids go without erasers. For pete’s skate.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Upper West Side Story

  1. kid_lit_fan says:

    I would add the advice to have a separate damn email address for business purposes. People are much more likely to take janesmith123@isp.com a lot more seriously than blondeslut4you@isp.com. I don’t GET “a facebook thing” or the word of the day on my job-hunting email.

  2. kid_lit_fan says:

    I would add the advice to have a separate damn email address for business purposes. People are much more likely to take janesmith123@isp.com a lot more seriously than blondeslut4you@isp.com. I don’t GET “a facebook thing” or the word of the day on my job-hunting email.

Leave a Reply

