Decafé, day 4

Well, I had thai iced teas this week so I’m not really decaffeinated, but going from 2-3 coffees/diet cokes a day to a very milked-down iced tea is something. I’ve definitely been sleeping better and generally feeling less anxious, but so far the biggest consequence (oh, besides the blinding headaches that has me popping ibuprofen like an underachieving Dr. House) is the effect of having a hole in my day.

For CaffeinatedMKP,  being ridiculously early just meant "Oh good, a chance to find a ‘bux and get some coffee." I mean, I can still get like…a snack…or overpriced bottled water (or carry water) ok, but the point is the ritual of going someplace, ordering something, sitting down to drink it.

I imagine it’s like smoking a cigarette – quit, and there’s this giant issue of what to do with your hands. Like the first time I went to a party after I quit drinking – I felt so pointless! I still tend to bring sparkling cider (if it’s fancy) or soda to a social gathering, so I can immediately have something in my hand to keep me busy (water?) Augh! Whatever I drink, I drink it quickly, and water especially so.

I’m that person at the restaurant who the waiter keeps cycling back for again, and again, and again, topping everyone else up after just a sip or two because I’ve sucked back 8 oz of water since they turned left at table 5. Yes, I’m why you can’t pick up your glass without dropping flooded ice cubes all over the table cloth. Maybe if you made me less tense. *ahem*

So relaxed without caffeine.

Anyway, now that the weather’s chillening, brisk walks are good, sedentary waits for the world to adapt to your earliness while you sit outdoors with your damned water bottle are …I won’t be judgmental and say un-good, but you know what I mean. The coffee ritual has structure, a time allotment, significance, camaraderie. Abstaining for no good reason other than "I suddenly am off *insert substance* is just awkward, even though I shouldn’t need to feel like I have to justify myself to anyone.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Decafé, day 4

  1. meopta says:

    I slipped today. I’m babysitting my niece and I just could not do five more minutes of the three kids without some sort of liquid crutch. I fed them McD’s so I could have a coke. I did. And I was like, dude, you know this ain’t right. On so many levels.

    • At least it was, you know, only the soda kind of coke 😛
      I’ve been retaliating against all sorts of junk food, sugar and caffeine cravings by *sigh* chugging water until I’m too full to worry about it.

    • At least it was, you know, only the soda kind of coke 😛
      I’ve been retaliating against all sorts of junk food, sugar and caffeine cravings by *sigh* chugging water until I’m too full to worry about it.

  2. meopta says:

    I slipped today. I’m babysitting my niece and I just could not do five more minutes of the three kids without some sort of liquid crutch. I fed them McD’s so I could have a coke. I did. And I was like, dude, you know this ain’t right. On so many levels.

Leave a Reply

