In which I attempt some growth. Or whatever.

And yes, I will still be short (Though the tallest in my apartment!).

Now that baseball is over (Um, MKP, lots of people are still excited for this whole postseason thing..) So now that the season is over (I know the Mets are done but there are still gam-) NOW THAT THE SEASON IS OVER…. (carry on)

…And with it many of my opportunities to eat hot dogs, peanuts, milkshakes, ice cream in helmets, chicken fingers and nachos like this is how people eat every day (What?!). So I’m trying to like, change stuff. Add some serenity to my day. And all that crap.

Project Kvetch Less began today when I got out of bed earlier than usual, actually used utensils and heat in the preparation of breakfast, walked through the park to work from the subway (instead of across 59th street next to the park) and consumed no coffee.

That’s right, no coffee. I’ve gone off caffeine before – most notably in my pursuit of interstellar musical theater fame (little known fact: the Gershwins are not really appreciated on Mars), I eschewed caffeine for nearly 2 years. My first relapse Diet Coke gave me the shakes for 6 hours. It was awesome.

But, I’ve been sort of on the maintenence system re: caffeine, and it makes me, well, hacked off all the time. At everyone. And if I’m not mad at the world I’m afraid it’s coming to get me. One of my fave Jezebloggers, Morninggloria, is embarking on a similar mission, except she’s allowing herself special occasion coffee, holiday lattes, etc. Now, I will probably need a gingersnap latte when they first premiere them at Christmas time (aka two weeks from now) but if my past history of liquid abuse has taught me anything it’s that when I quit something I need to quit it good, fully, and all the time. Last night’s diet coke didn’t know it was so special (and it kind of wishes it had been something hardcore like a quadruple latte with redbull), but special it assuredly was.

This leaves us with the quandary of what do I drink now? (water) I mean, in a restaurant, diet coke and iced tea are my go-tos. (Drink water) Sprite is too sugary for a grown-up me to drink often, ditto ginger ale and lemonade. (Idiot, drink water). If only there was a liquid that could fulfill my need to constantly have something to play with during dinner conversation (ok, maybe oobleck).

Fine, I’ll drink freaking water. Geez.

Those of you thinking that eliminating stimulants from my daily routine doesn’t really constitute a life change (we’ll address your attitude later) will be gratified to know that there’s more to it. There’s also a whole system of room cleaning and cooking-at-home-ing underway, which is about 1/3 necessary to stave off my annual October SADfest and 2/3 because our new roommate, Foodie, looks at me with horror when I go to heat up Campbell’s soup for dinner. "What? There are vegetables in it! Look, potatoes!" doesn’t seem to appease her.

**Sidenote: Any and all health-based resolutions will go on hold when/if/when I visit the Entenmenn’s outlet in Riverdale again. I mean, my GOD, people, I got 3 cakes for $5. Five dollars purchased 3 cakes (Um, they were small, and two were for a friend to take to a brunch she went to on Saturday.). Seven more dollars purchased english muffins, bagel holes (not, as you might fear, a bag of air), pitas and um…apple danishes. This place is AMAZING. I may need a chaperone next time.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to In which I attempt some growth. Or whatever.

  1. Anonymous says:

    In addition to water
    If you want something hot to drink, allow me to recommend so called “african red teas” using the herb roobios (which has the good sense to be pronounces ROYbus, which is wonderful when I think about it). It tastes very much like tea, but is utterly w/o caf, never had it so it didn’t have to be removed. It doesn’t taste all watery like herb tea either.
    HH Snooty

    • Re: In addition to water
      Many thanks for the recommendation!
      I only just now realized I’ve been transposing “roobios” and hearing it as Roo-ee-boos in my head.
      How humilating.

    • Re: In addition to water
      Many thanks for the recommendation!
      I only just now realized I’ve been transposing “roobios” and hearing it as Roo-ee-boos in my head.
      How humilating.

  2. Anonymous says:

    In addition to water
    If you want something hot to drink, allow me to recommend so called “african red teas” using the herb roobios (which has the good sense to be pronounces ROYbus, which is wonderful when I think about it). It tastes very much like tea, but is utterly w/o caf, never had it so it didn’t have to be removed. It doesn’t taste all watery like herb tea either.
    HH Snooty

  3. meopta says:

    I quit the stuff this week too – how odd. It must be something in the air.

  4. meopta says:

    I quit the stuff this week too – how odd. It must be something in the air.

Leave a Reply

